Turbeville, Armstrong End Terms on Dickson City Council

Dickson Mayor Don L. Weiss Jr presents proclamation to Jon Armstrong

Two members of the Dickson City Council ended their terms earlier this month with a combined 21 years of public service.

Joey Turbeville and Jon “Bird” Armstrong saw their terms come to an end on the first Monday in October following last month’s municipal election of four council members, as established in the city’s charter.

Turbeville chose not to seek a third term on the council due to travel obligations of his job. Armstrong was unsuccessful in his campaign for a fourth four-year term.

At the council’s Oct. 4 council meeting, Mayor Don L. Weiss Jr. thanked both councilmen for their service and presented them with proclamations. Plaques honoring Turbeville and Armstrong will be presented at a later date.

The proclamations thanked both men for their “leadership and service to the community” and recognized them for having “honorably served the citizens” of the City of Dickson.

Turbeville was first appointed to the council Jan. 3, 2012, in the Second Ward to complete the term of Richard Arnold following his resignation. He won four-year terms in 2013 and 2017, running unopposed both times.

During his tenure, Turbeville served on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board and was the council representative on the Board of Directors for the Greater Dickson Gas Authority, among other committees and boards.

Armstrong unseated incumbent Marvin Corlew for his first term from the Third Ward in 2009, won an unopposed race in 2013 and held off Pam Edmond and former Councilman Mike Legg for his third term in 2017. He lost his bid for a fourth term last month to Stacey Levine, the daughter of the late former Councilman, Vice Mayor, State Representative and County Commissioner David Shepard.

During his tenure, Armstrong served as the council representative on the Board of Directors for the Water Authority of Dickson County and the Cemetery Committee, among other committees and boards.

Weiss praised both men for their dedication and service to the City of Dickson.

Kyle Sanders will be sworn in as the new council member for the Second Ward on Oct. 18. A local attorney and former county commissioner, Sanders topped former County Commissioner Shane Chandler and former Dickson Mayor J. Dan Buckner in the race for the open seat.

An architect and program director for Tennessee State Parks, Levine will be sworn in Oct. 18 to represent the Third Ward after topping Armstrong in a two-way race.

First Ward Councilman Jason Epley won his second term on the council in an uncontested race and Michael Outlaw won a fourth term from the Fourth Ward by beating former police officer Justin Walton. Epley and Outlaw also will be sworn in at the start of the adjourned session Oct. 18 to begin their new terms.

The terms of Mayor Weiss, Councilwoman Betty Lou Alsobrooks (First Ward), Vice Mayor Robby Harmon (Second Ward), Councilman Horace Perkins III (Third Ward) and Councilman Dwight Haynes (Fourth Ward) expire in two years and will be on the ballot Sept. 28, 2023.

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter!

wrong short-code parameters for ads


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here